• The Constitution of India makes a mention of these committees at different places, but without making any specific provisions regarding their composition, tenure, functions, etc. All these matters are dealt by the rules of two Houses.
  • Committee that is: Appointed or elected by the house or nominated by speaker or chairman + Works under speaker /chairman + Presents its report to house or to the speaker /chairman + Has a secretariat provided by Lok Sabha /Rajya Sabha.


Criteria Estimates Committee Public Accounts Committee Committee on Public Undertakings Departmental Standing Committee (24 Committees)


1950-recommendation of John Mathai set up first in 1921 under Govt. of India Act 1919 Krishna Menon Committee 1964 Rules committees of Lok Sabha 1993





30 members all from Lok Sabha (largest committee)

Minister cannot be member

22 (15 Lok Sabha + 7 Rajya Sabha)

Elected for one year – proportional representation by single transferable vote.

Chairman – from Opposition

Minister cannot be member

Same as PAC


Minister cannot be member

31 members (21 from Lok Sabha + 10 from Rajya Sabha)

Nominated by respective presiding officers.


The term of office of each standing committee is one year from the date of its constitution.






To examine budget –suggest economies of public expenditure Examine CAG Audit report and discover the irregularities To examine reports and accounts public sector undertakings.

Don’t involve day to day affairs of PSU

To examine bills, demand of grants and other matters recommended to them. Out of the 24 standing committees, 8 work under the Rajya Sabha and 16 under the Lok Sabha.
Supportive officer NO Available.

CAG – friend philosopher, guide for PAC

Involvement in policy Suggest alternative policy of bringing policy of economies NO NO NO


  • Extra constitutional in emergence.
  • The executive in India works under the Government of India Transaction of Business Rules, 1961.
  • These Rules emerge out of Article 77(3) of the Constitution, which states: “The President shall make rules for the more convenient transaction of the business of the Government of India, and for the allocation among Ministers of the said business.”
  • Two types: standing and Ad-hoc:
  1. Standing à Permanent committee
  2. Adhoc committee àtemporary for special purpose
  • Set up by prime minister (PM) + Varies membership from 3-8 + Includes minister in charge + senior ministers + Take decisions which are reviews by cabinet + To reduce workload of cabinet.



  • Cabinet committee on political affairs (called as SUPER CABINET): deals with all policy matters pertaining to foreign and domestic affairs à chaired by prime minister
  • Cabinet committee on Economic affairs: direct and coordinates the governmental activities on economic sphere à chaired by prime minister.
  • Appointment committee of cabinet: decides all higher-level appointments in the central secretariat, public enterprises banks and financial institutionsà chaired by prime minister.
  • Cabinet committee on security à The Prime Minister chairs the CCS.
  • Cabinet committee on parliamentary affairs: looks after progress of government business in the parliamentà chaired by home minister
  • Cabinet committee on Accommodation
  • Cabinet committee on investment and growth à headed by the Prime Minister
  • Cabinet committee on employment and skill development à headed by the Prime Minister
Successful completion of NSAT IAS
LIVE solution Class 20th March at 11:00 a.m
Successful completion of NSAT IAS
LIVE solution Class 20th March at 11:00 a.m
Attend LIVE Solution Class
Download IGP- Current Affairs for Interview 2022
Enter your details to get the ebook!
1.5 Year Current Affairs
Download Free Ebook
Mentors Guided
Prelims Test Series UPSC 2023
Program starts from 15th of January 2023
Online mode
Whatsapp Now
Offline mode
To Know More visit here